Canada Day – Wednesday, July 1

July 1, 2020 all-day

Canada Day is a federal statutory holiday celebrating Canadian Confederation. Originally called Dominion Day, the holiday commemorates the unification of the three North American British colonies: New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, and the Province of Canada (which consisted of Ontario and Quebec).

On July 1, 1867, the British North America Act formally joined the colonies, creating the unified, semi-independent Dominion of Canada. Canada remained a part of the British Empire until 1982, when the country became fully independent.

Since 1867, Canada has grown to include six more provinces and three territories—the most recent being the territory of Nunavut in 1999. The country is now made up of 13 provinces and territories.  This year – Canada will celebrate 153 years as a Nation on Wednesday, July 1, 2020. Wednesdays are currently a day of CLOSURE for Legion#119 – so perhaps a great day to go to the Park?!